Breathing techniques / stamina

Hi there, I have been running regularly (once or twice a week min) since Dec 2011 and in that time I have built myself up from 1 mile to 8 miles. I’ve taken it at a leisurely pace and it has been a very satisfying achievement, particularly as I don’t ‘love’ running the way some people do. However, I’m doing a half marathon in Oct 2012 and something is concerning me. Still, after all this time, I find myself having to stop running and walk at a medium pace for 15-25 seconds every couple of miles. I find I have to do this to catch my breath and sometimes my legs ache so much, despite spending ½ hour warming up before my runs. So the big question – am I normal? Because my runner friends don’t seem to experience this at all – they claim they never need to stop. Even those who are beginners like me! I’d love to know if anyone else battles this because I feel like I’m cheating when I slow to a brief walk. Or am I being too hard on myself? I wonder if it is a mental thing but I do struggle to get my breathing going at a steady pace. Any tips on how to conquer it would be hugely appreciated. Thanks, Holly

Comments

• Wow, half an hour warm up? That seems a little long to me, I would only usually spend 10-15 minutes most.

I think there could be a few breathing techniques that could help you out, most of them are slightly yoga-like. Practising them can do you the world of good, I think there should be some articles lurking around the training section.

Walking isn't cheating! I've been running for 3 years and there are still runs where I feel like I've been hit by a truck and need a quick breather, I wouldn't worry too much about it.

A lot of the time walking is partly willpower, it can be hard to push through the moments where you just feel tired with heavy legs. It gets better with practice, however if you feel nagging pains its always best to stop. image