GNR 2012 Beginner's Help

Hi,

I have got a place in the Great North Run on 16th September 2012.  I've joined the BHF Heart Runners to raise money in memory of my Dad, so failure is not an option!

I started as a complete beginner on 8th February 2012 and am using the C25K iPhone App.  The problem I have is that as the weeks progress, my breathing is becoming more and more erratic and I have had to repeat Week 4 (run 3 minutes, walk 1.5 minutes, run 5 minutes, walk 2.5 minutes x 2).  I had my worst run on Sunday 18/03/12, followed by a better run on Wednesday 21/03/12.  I would say that my breathing is regular, but challenging, for the first 2-3 minutes of a running interval but I find it increasingly difficult to take breath in after that.  I couldn't hold a conversation when I'm running and I  struggle in the walking intervals to get my breath back before the next run.  I am running at a very slow pace, so I don't think it's related to that.  I am 2-3 stone overweight (BMI 30.0) so I am sure that will be contributing to the difficulties I am facing.  I have changed my eating habits and am losing weight steadily.

I guess the advice I would like from other beginners or seasoned runners, is how I should proceed from here.  I am not giving up, and I want to complete the GNR by running the full course but I am worried I am delusional!  It's 25 weeks on Sunday until the race, so is it better for me to hold back now and train harder towards the end or should I be pushing it now?

Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated, sorry for the huge post I just thought it would be better to try and include as much information as I could.

Thanks guys image

Comments

• As a complete beginner, and you are having breathing difficulties, have you had a check up with your doctor? Some people have exercise induced asthma, I would really get yourself checked out first if I were you, and if all ok check out the beginners schedule on here and follow that.