Begin running courses - Have you done one? What were the good and bad bits?

Together with a clubmate who has done RunEngland beginner courses before (I've already picked her brains!) I'll be doing a club/RunEngland begin-to-run course at the start of September.

I'd like to hear from people who've been on a beginners' running course to find out what you thought was good and what was maybe a bit of a turn-off. It would be interesting to know who ran the course (local club? RunEngland? Local gym? Combination of the above?) but don't feel you have to name names, "a local running club" is fine image

I do remember being a beginner myself (not very fit & a bit round) and more recently have taken friends and colleagues out & done couch-to-5k with them, but that's a pretty small sample of people and I'd like to do my best for the much wider range of folk who'll turn up this autumn.

Comments

• Start with the real basics. Clothing and shoes. I did not own lycra and was frightened of it image

I did get proper shoes but buying lycra seemed only appropriate for 'runners' and I didn't identify with them. I started with a running group who organsied a night in a running shop - drinks and nibbles - and we could all try and buy with 10% discount. I'd probably been running a few weeks by this time but it meant I bought proper clothing without any self consciousness.

Might seem a silly thing and tbh I almost can't remember feeling that way but it was useful. Alternatively point them in direction of online outlets?

Stretching was a bit of a mystery....  (I'm not on about lycra here) but being shown just a couple of stretches at a time would have been useful. We whizzed through oodles - none of which I probably did correctly.

• Fido2DogsFido2Dogs ✭✭✭

That's a good idea - we have a friendly local running shop who might well be up for that.