Help: i'm a Muppet

I'm doing ironman Regensburg on Sunday. Training has gone well, flights booked, hotel sorted. Tidy. I'm in my first year of triathlon, decided on a whim to upgrade to a TT 6 Weeks ago having never ridden one before. Anyway, i'm used to it, all is tickety boo except that its got tubs instead of clinchers and i've never even attempted to change a tub before. So, do I practice changing it at home although that obviously means ungluing the current one and then having to get it glued on again, and also risks massively stressing self out over the whole thing. Out shall I just take a spare on race day as a precaution and pray to God that I don't get a flat? Thoughts? Anyone else been in the same boat?

Comments

• Should prob also say, not trying to qualify for Kona but would like to finish.
  • fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭

I could suggest, what the feck were you doing buying tubs so close to an event having never used them before but I won't....image

I'd just risk it at this stage - from those I know who did IMR last year, the roads were in good nick so you might be OK.   but don't take my word for that!!

• I was in the exact same boat for Ironman Regensburg last year. I got someone else to show me on their wheels how to change them so I knew in theory how to change them. I changed my tires shortly before the race but I got the bike shop to do it and I took one of the older ones they had taken off and carried it as a spare as it already has glue on it so I don't need to mess around with too much stuff on the day. Thankfully, I'd no punctures but the person who showed me how to change the tyre, got two! Best of Luck, I'm off to Austria this year but I wish I was going to Outlaw with the pirates!

• Muppet !