The Trionium Picnic Marathon

Comments

• Gun for hire - Not sure what course you did with 5700 feet of climb but the elevation gain was only 3000 feet and so the Picnic is a lot harder!!

• Indeed Stuart - South Downs marathons is advertised as 5700ft but I reckon that is calculated from Mean Sea Level, it's much more like 3000ft.

Gulp.

• Ouch....This is my first time and I have never been to box hill. So I'm getting more scared by the minute as it seems to be getting longer and more hilly the more the posts go on image. I was wondering if somebody could confirm a couple of things....is it entirely on trail/grass?, also when we complete the fist lap will we come back by the start or is there somewhere that family/friends can see/support us?

• Yep, all trail, track, roots, stones, grass, steps n stuff that goes steeply up and down. Be glad you don't know the area. And if your not a little scared your in trouble. I'm fairly confident that the start is also the 1/2 way. (I'm quite terrified tooimage
  • There's no doubt it's tough but also fun! Last year the guidance was to add 40% to your marathon time as a guide - I managed to add 55% .... But that was on the "short" course!
  • Thanks kipperonabike....I shall certainly be treating this with respect. Especially since my hill and distance training have been hampered by an injury. Trevor - it almost sounds like 'fun' adding 50%....but I know it will be anything but!!
  • Let's remember guys this will be almost certainly the toughest race we ever run and the pain will be considerable to say the least.

But the overwhelming sense of Olympian achievement and pride at crossing the finish line will be huge.

The aches and pains will go - in time! - but the medal and the unforgettable memories will stay with us for ever!

• I've considered my options and it seems I'm to late to enter the Picnic. Oh dear! Good luck every one and Nick! I trust it really will hurt. But then that's why you do it. ( :-0)