Trainers. Minefield

I've been running for a few years now and have had one or two good pairs of trainers in the past but am in the market for a new pair and finding it very frustrating. 

I went out and bought half a dozen pairs or different types/makes and have been trying them out and am disappointed with all of them. 

What I *think* I've discovered: All this talk of air and gel in the heel to absorb shock is a bit more psychology/marketing than science. This is 2012 and materials must exist that provide the same absorbtion without all the gimmickry.

Further, the volumes of gel provided in trainers seems to be the same whether the trainer is a size 6 or a size 14. I can't help thinking that someone who is a size six and nine and a half stone (like me) is going to have requirements quite different to someone who's a size 14 weighing 20 stone. Why then the same thickness of gel whatever the size of the shoe (in the makes I examined)? 

Why do trainers make no mention of the body weight they are most suited to? Or is that irrelevant?

One more thing. I took a knife to a brand new pair of Asics and cut the gel open. Guess what?! It's 2-3 mm deep, that's it. This seems to support my theory that gel is more for show than for actual runner benefit. It's stuck on to the outside of the shoe so a few extra quid can be added to the price.

Somebody tell me I'm nuts and I've got this all wrong! 

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

I will say that you're nuts - and that you must have more money than you know what to do with, and a lot of time on your hands!

• fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭

you're nuts and you've got it all wrongc image

the science behind running shoes is pretty complex as are the materials used.  you can't just cut one open and deduce the characteristics of how the shoe will work in practice or how it's wrong for certain weights   you'd need to talk to the designers/manufacturers to get the full lowdown on the whys and wherefores.