Running to keep weight down

Hi all, I'm a newbie and after losing 71/2 stones from 181/2 to 11 1/2 I have just been for a gait analysis and bought a real pair of running shoes. I really want to run to help keep the weight off whilst eating sensibly. I'm nearly 50 and although I play a lot of golf I haven't run for years. I could do with some pointers on hydration and healthy running. Thanks.

Comments

• I am still very new to this too, so will leave the advice to the experts on here, but I just wanted to say well done on the weight loss! That is amazing and you should be so proud. Best of luck with the new life!

• Hey! thanks for that  Springle,much appreciated.

• Hydration: don't worry so much about taking water with you when you run (most beginners do). Hydration is omething you need to be doing all the time. Literally have water with you all day and take some every 20 minutes. Many different parts of your body will store the water.

Healthy running: follow a program and keep a note of your runs. Observe rest days (you can still play golf and what have you). If you feel a niggling injury beginning, take some time to rest and stretch out that body part. Look up some stretches and do them religiously within 20 minutes of finishing your run. Stay safe when running on the roads: buy an item of clothing that is flourescent yellow.

Find a pair of pants that stops you from getting chafed (you will be surprised how painfully this can be!).

Count calories: work out how many your runs are burning. That way, you'll resist the urge to reward yourself with too many treats that you've 'earned' through running. At the same time, recognise that you need some good quality carbohydrates - or at the very least, protein - to keep you fuelled as a runner.

7 1/2 stone is like carrying a second person, so well done on the weight loss.