Bristol Half Marathon Woes!

Hi all, I'm all signed up for the Bristol half marathon on the 30th of Sept (the day I move into halls at Bristol uni too!) and I've been running since the 30th of May 2012. I'm not naturally a great runner and I've never enjoyed it very much, but this is something I want to do. Anyway, I started off running with great difficulty, not even being able to get to the end of the road without wheezing and stopping. I can see improvement in my fitness as I can go further now and don't have the same breathing issues. I even started to love running because of the satisfaction I felt after a good run. Now, though, I've started to feel very lethargic and disheartened about it all. I don't think I'll be able to finish in my target time and at the moment I don't even feel like running at all. My training is suffering because of this as well as my weight loss (I'm aiming to lose weight through this too). Has anyone hit this morale brick wall? Does anyone have any suggestions how I can power through the lethargy? I don't know if it's my diet making me feel like this, or I'm getting ill, or if I just need to buck up my ideas and get out there! Thanks image Clare

Comments

• Hi Clare, good to hear from you. I'm running Bristol as well image
    What kind of training have you been doing, and have you been trying anything new recently? You might just be a bit inder the weather with a cold virus or something, but dieting and an increase in training don't always go together well, as you start cutting calories just as your body starts using a few more. If you eat healthy foods and are training well, you'll be able to eat a fair bit without gaining any weight.
    Lastly, is this your 1st half? If it is, why not take some of the pressure off by focusing on enjoying the experience and having a nice race, rather than worrying about a target time? You're obviously still young, so you've got many years to set fast times of you like your first race!