2013 IM Mentoring

Comments

• Ironholgs wrote (see)

ps: Britrisky - I love Hull, went to uni there and think it's a great place image

It really is, its just that it has such a bad press some are even too scared to go there!!!

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/events/the-hull-marathon/193511.html

• mellifera wrote (see)
    I want to like your post bedders!

image....an old softy at heart

• Postie I need you! Or anyone else willing to take on a complete novice....unless you all tell me that an Ironman in 2013 is a daft plan...

I haven't done a triathlon before. I haven't got a road bike.

But I can run - slowly! - (x country 10k sub 50) and I can swim - also slowly! - (pool mile just under 40 mins). At the moment I run 25-30m p/week over 4 sessions and swim 2-3m over 2 or 3 sessions. And I cycle to work every day (albeit a shortish distance and currently on a MTB). 

So I am not completely useless, and would (begrudgingly) defer to the wisdom of other Pirates and go for a 70.3 first if you could convince me it was a better plan...But, I'm in a bit of a training lull and I am looking for a challenge. Preferably a big one. I am the keenest bean you will find and have heaps of time to dedicate to training....what does anyone think??

• Hmmm realised I missed out the vital stats - I am female, 26, based in S.West - and I'd be happy for a virtual mentor, as I have a performance analyst and a PE teacher on hand (2 brothers!) to help me through day to day training if I need it....

• yellowrubberduck wrote (see)

So I am not completely useless, and would (begrudgingly) defer to the wisdom of other Pirates and go for a 70.3 first if you could convince me it was a better plan...

Nooooooo. Dive in to IM and don't look back! I did one pool based sprint tri, then signed up for an IM straight away and did it a year later. Make a 70.3 part of the training for IM...mad but that's what my mentor told me to do

.........fb......nuff said.