I have no appetite - HELP!

Hi all

I'm new to running (I've been doing it on and off since March though have only ran consistently since last month) and have only recently been capable of running 5k. I do this now 3/4 times a week. 

My problem is that running has seemed to decreased my appetite image I am literally having to force food into my mouth to ensure I'm getting the necessary calories. In literally all the articles I've read, it says running regularly should mean you have no trouble eating a hearty amount of food. This lack of appetite I've been experiencing has literally only been since I've started running 5k, so only the past couple of weeks.

I am significantly overweight. This will hopefully change soon but could I be pushing myself too hard? I am still a slow runner. 5k in just under 50 mins is the pace I'm at now but as a fat lady, I'm hardly Paula Radcliffe. I'm losing around 2lbs a week running and eating healthily so I'm pretty sure I'm getting a good workout. 

Is this normal at all? Do I need to see my doctor? I'm fed up of not enjoying my food.

Thanks

Comments

• If you are overweight and your appetite has decreased I would say happy days!

• It's not happy days when you have to force yourself to just eat the absolute minamum amount you need to not retain fat. 

• Please don't take this the wrong way as I genuinely don't want to cause offence, but as a significantly overweight person, could it maybe just be that what you're used to thinking of as a 'normal' appetite is actually a bit skewed? Maybe your new healthy running plan and commitment to losing weight has re-jigged your appetite to a more reasonable level.

As long as your weight loss is a fairly steady 2lb or so per week, I don't think you should worry too much. Maybe try tempting yourself with some tasty healthy snacks - tropical fruits, fancy salad mixes, that sort of thing. Some days I just don't have much of an appetite either and I don't think about it too much.