Transitioning to mid-foot striking for a half marathon

Hi

I'm having some problems with patellofemoral pain syndrome which was essentially brought on by overuse - 2 months of doing 3 x 10-14 miles per week

It's alot better now after some physio but still niggling.  I tried mid-foot striking the other night and the pain was largely gone.

However, I've heard it takes a while to transition so I'm wondering if anyone has any insight into whether it would be feasible to buy a pair of "transition" shoes and be able to run the Glasgow Half this way in about 8 weeks time?

Also, any tips or experience from others who've done this would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Matt

Comments

• what are you transitioning from and to?

• From heel striking to mid foot striking

• I am no expert but as i understand it you can mid foot strike in normal running shoes? 

• RatzerRatzer ✭✭✭

I went from heel strike to fore/mid-foot strike.  It took maybe six months to a year.  No such thing as 'transition' shoes - you're either changing the way you run or you're not.  It gives you aches and pains in places you're not used to.  You run slower than you used to, until the newly used areas are strengthened.  Then you run faster because your form is better.

You will want to try out all sorts of drills, "barefoot" running, exercises and techniques until you find what helps you to feel natural when running in the new style.  Sprinting helps too, in a controlled environment like an athletics club.  You can probably sense from this list that 8 weeks is a little bit short to fit in a lot of body changing exercise!  But you can still run the half, you just won't be ready...

• I'm with Ratzer on this one, it took me 6 months to go from heel strike to fore/mid-foot strike and to be able to cover a 10km comfortably. And another three months to get from there to being able to complete a half marathon in a decent time.