How am I ever going to do this??

Hello I am new to this running thing! Am very overweight- 17.7 stones (!!) and in my warped mind I believe I can run .... Then I go out and realise I can't! I do this with a lot of exercise- it must be some kind of exercise dysmorphia or something. My son has tried taking me out and I honestly, hand on heart cannot jog more than 30 seconds- if that!!! Then I walk fast and try and jog again but it's disastrous. I end up upset at myself and frustrated. Then I give up and refuse to go. BUT have decided to give it another go by myself so no-one can see me crying- haha! So have come to the experts on here for advice. Do other people start like this? Should I go out every day? Is it ok to run less than 30 secs then walk? Any advice really appreciated as I SO want to be able to do this! Thanks!

Comments

• Have a look at the 'couch to 5k' plan

Go out at *your* pace and yours alone

It will be slow and you will walk a lot but you will get there

Persevere and enjoy it  image

• I'm in the exact same boat as you claretdebs. However, what i have found is the following.

For a week or so, just do 30 min-1 hour walks, varying your pace. Walk over rough terrain if possible such as woodland or fields.

After a week or so, start the couch to 5k program, but modify it. Instead of the 1 min jogs, then 90 sec walks, do 30 sec jog, 2 min walks. Do this until your endurance improves enough for you to start on the plan properly. It might take a week or two, it might take a month. All the while though, your endurance is improving and increasing.

While you are doing this, change your diet so you start losing weight purely through that.  From then on, things should slowly start falling in place.

• Hi Clare

I'm am also just starting out (been doing this for just two weeks). My plan is to doing "Brisk Walking" for a couple more week, then if I feel ready I will start on the C25K program and work through that.