Advice For a complete novice!

Hi, I've never ran before, never really done much sport and in a moment of insanity i have signed up for a half marathon in a few months!
I'm not overweight, using this purely for fitness (and to entertain my friends and family apparently!)
Ordered some sports underwear, got some running shoes, now to hit the road.
Pretty concerened about injuries - to not be able to do it over injury would crush me, what should i be looking for? I'm expecting to ache as my body isnt used to it but is there anywhere i shouldn't ache? What can i do to help prevent injuries?
Are there any major training Do's and Dont's?
I plan to take rest days and mix up with swimming or something of the sort as well.

Comments

• 1: Run slowly. 

2: Don't go to far, just follow a couch to 5 or 10k program to begin with and go from there

3: if possible try to run on softer ground as much as you can. 

4: RUN SLOWLY

5: Most problems seem to be people going to far, to often or to quickly.  SLOW, no more then 3 maybe 4 times a week to begin with, and go SLOWLY image

• Just be sensible. Booktrunk seems to have got it covered. 

• 1 to 5 very good image

6: Eat right and make sure you don't just eat cr*p I balanced diet will help you recover from training.

7: Always warm up and cool down before and after runs.

8: Do some core work with your training free weight's are good or swimming. Best thing is yoga if you can.

9:Listen to your body if you have a niggle rest it so it doesn't turn into a injury. If you miss one day running you can do it anouther day and it won't be the end of the world.

10:Run slowly

• Thank you guys! imageso best advice seems..

• Warm up,
    • Run slow, not too far, not too often,
    • Prefereably on softer ground
    • Cool down,
    • Rest,
    • Work out something else (good to know you have put free weights on the list, seems a shame to waste my gym membership!)