General Stiffness Especially In the Morning...

I've been running for two years now, I'm 43 years old (tomorrow), and I always wake up feeling really quite stiff; particularly my ankles.  My weekly mileage can vary from 25 miles to the occassional 50 miles a week and I don't have any problems (the odd niggle which goes away with rest maybe).

But I kinda have to hobble out of bed to the toilet (that's my bladder telling me I'm getting old) I'm that stiff.  I'm okay once I've moved about about, but the stiffness seems rather excessive.

Mrs Easy is a decent runner; a few years younger than me; and she doesn't have the same problems.

Is it my age, or is it summat else?  Ideas anyone?

Comments

• It's not your age. 43 is far too young to be feeling stiff in the morning.

What do you do for a job? Do you sit down all day? Are you on your feet all day? What is your general posture and fitness like? Do you need a new mattress on your bed?

Have you seen your GP and discussed this with them? It really doesn't sound right to me but anything could be going on. Maybe a simple change will fix it.

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

The symptoms sound exactly the same as I had.

Turned out to be a calcium imbalance. Para-thyroidism.

Blood test reveals all, but only surgery fixes the problem.

🙂

• Thanks RicF; that put the frighteners on me!   Smiling now though.  Note to self, asking for interweb diagnosis isn't good.

Interesting illness though that Parathyoidism:

"moans, groans, stones, and bones...with psychic overtones"

http://www.parathyroid.com/parathyroid-symptoms.htm

But I'm sure it's not.  My bones feel good; it's my tendons that are stiff and I've not got any of the other symptoms.

@Bex, I'm a window cleaner - so fairly physical - I rarely climb ladders these days; I use one of those new fangled Reach 'n' Wash systems with lightweight carbon fibre poles; so I keep moving, but it's not heavy work.  I even try to jog while working, whenever possible - to help with my fitness.