First time triathlon - advice needed

Please can anyone help with some advice for a first-timer? 

My husband has just signed up for a triathlon (he's a complete novice, decent swimmer and commuter cyclist, not much of a runner) and is looking for some advice on the best sort of entry level bike to get.  The first triathlon is a 40km cycle and I would guess at this stage that will be his norm for a while yet.

Any advice would be much appreciated particularly around the advantages of a tri bike versus a road bike, price range and suppliers.  He's being doing some research on the internet and through friends, but I suggested giving this forum a whirl (I am a regular post-er on the running related threads).

thanks in advance for any advice

Hegs x

Comments

• Hi, i am a first timer and have just brought a road bike. A friend of mine did a tri last year on a mtb and said that although he got on ok the first thing he did afterwards was buy a road bike! Plenty of deals to be had at the mo!
  • ok i would definitely say avoid the mountain bike or a hybrid. I would go for a road bike that you can add tri bars to for racing. What he needs to do is get the miles in first and thats best on a road bike. . If he likes tri then an out and out tri bike would be the next step but a lot of us are fine with road bikes- after all you only spend a tiny amount of your riding time racing.
  • I bought a road bike, stuck some tri bars on it, best of both worlds.

Now of course if I had the money & space for a TT bike......