Diet...do or don't?

Hi...

I'm an educated woman but the whole "diet" thing is confusing me. I have a Master of Science and yet I can't work out who is telling the truth and who isn't. everyone seems to believe what they're saying. When I was younger I thought I was fat (what I'd give to be that "fat" again!!!) and tried every diet in the book (without success). swore never to do one again but about 9 years later was forced into reading "Protein Power." it made sense and I tried it. It worked and I was thrilled. Lost 15kgs and felt great. Since then a lot has happened and I have gained 30kgs in the space of 4-5 months from some medication I was on (and went straight off it when I realised what was happening I might add!).

Now, I think I'm eating healthily, but who knows. never believed in counting calories or any of that business but eat a lot of fruit and salad. hardly have chips/chocolate/fried food/etc, exercise at least 3 times a week VERY vigorously and am not shifting ANY weight what-so-ever. this has been going on for over 3 months now. so decided it was time to take a closer look at the old eating habits and think about going back on the high protein/low carb diet again. however, upon investigation through the net I am reading lots of negative things about that diet and lots of positive too. and that goes for most of the diets out there.

who should you believe? when you're at the end of your tether (and believe me I'm there alright) and according to all the "scales" out there are obese, what the heck do you do? who do you believe? starving doesn't work. that just makes it worse. argh!

I know no one has the magic answer, but was wonder if anyone else felt the same. Guess I just wanted to have a moan. all my friends are thin and don't understand. Telling me it's cause of the medicine does not make me feel any better about myself. I know they're trying, but....well, you'll understand if you've been where I am now.

*sigh*