Training for marathon on a bike ???

Hi guys and girls i kinda stopped running properly a few years ago due to constant cartlidge probs...however ! im an ex soldier so giving up is hard !!! do you think its poss to train for a marathon by only doing 2 runs a week ( 1 long 1 interval ) and the rest of the week on a bike ??? sounds a bit daft but trying to save my knees ! what do you think ???
Tagged:

Comments

• I would say you would have a better chance with  the bike rather than without

There are tried and tested 3 day plans around if you can squeeze that extra day in and then cross train on the others
  • Hog-mouseHog-mouse ✭✭✭

I run, cycle and swim. I run only 50 miles max per week, I cycle upto 150 milesmax per week and swim around 4-5k (2 or 3 swims) per week.

Cyling is good for all round fitness which is half the job when training for a marathon. The long run and the speed work is a good base.

I think that you can do it but I'd throw in another shortish easy run as M...eldy says. I found that I could cycle to work (15 miles) LSR 20+ miles then cycle home from work quite easily. However, skiiping the morning cycle ride did not make the long run any easier nor did I find that I could run further. (much as I would have loved that to be the caes).

• thanx for your replies guys !
  • I first started running regularly about two years ago to prepare for the first Birmingham Half Marathon. I have to say that i thought i would be fine as i used to cycle regularly for anything between 2-3 hours at a time but that first 30 minute run absolutely slayed me and it took me a good 2 or 3 months before i could manage half an hour without gasping at the end of it. Too much temptation to cruise whilst cycling whereas with running yous dinnae have that.  

Swimming's a good call, though - i found it a great help in building general fitness and it will save your knees. Just try to keep it going rather than having a rest after every length or two. image