Am I capable of Finishing the 2012 Outlaw?

Hi all,

I was just having a little crisis of confidence and so thought I would pick the collective brains of the forum.

My athletic background is as follows:

I've been running for nearly 3 years, I try to run a race a month from 5k to marathon, with my first ultra next month at the two oceans.

I cycled LEJOG in 13 days last summer and have commuted to and from work since then, but no rides of any significant distance since.

Very little swim experience. Have done 1900m in 47 mins at a pool last week and did a 400m time trial in 9:30.

O and never done a triathlon.

With 15 weeks to go till my tri:

1)can I complete it?
2)where should my training focus be?
3)are there any key time trials I should do nearer the time to assess what shape I'm in?

Thanks for reading. All comments welcome.

Comments

• Well for what it's worth your training and experience sounds like it is miles ahead of where I was on my first IM last year , so in my opinion not only will you finish , but you'll have time to get fed and showered before heading back to the finish line in time for me and the other "bop"ers to finish
  • I really can't see it being a problem but I'd focus on the bike.
    You'll probably do the swim under 90 mins. Well within cut off.
    Then there's just the bike and run to do. Simples.
  • Over training probably best start tapering now tbh.....image
  • There was me thinking this would be a "I can't swim and don't own a bike, can I finish Outlaw 2012?" post. You're starting from a better base than many.

Completing the distance won't be a problem. Get out on the bike, it won't take you long to get back to your LEJOG endurance on it. Do some OW swims, getting up to race distance. Key time trials? After your long rides you'll have an idea of how long the bike will take, and your run pace is likely to be a bit slower than your ultra pace.
  • M..o.useM..o.use ✭✭✭