Body fat/body composition scales

Evening all, has anybody got any advice on which body fat/composition scales are a good buy? I'm up for spending around ??80.... Thanks!

Comments

• I'd not bother. Not very accurate.
  • Try this:

1. Buy a bottle of water (1L is good) and find a set of these scales to test.

2. Before drinking the water, weigh yourself, check the fat % and note it down.

3. Drink said bottle of water.

4. Step back on the scales when the water is gone and note the change in the body fat %.

Now I'm no scientist, my B.A (Hons) was in the arts field, but even I know water can't change your body fat level on intake. 

These machines are not accurate, they rely on you having not just similar, but the exact same level of hydration each time you step on the scales and lets face it, unless your a machine and monitor exactly how much you drink- and eat (because food contains water) and sweat and breathe (breath contains water vapour) then your never going to get an accurate result. And when your looking to retain a % within a 5%  range your wasting your time. Just go by the callipers and tape measurements. 

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

I get mine down to its minimum of 5% , I doubt it to be correct.

🙂

• One month your body fat is x% the next your body fat is y%. To what use will you put this information????
  • Ian MIan M ✭✭✭
    According to 'Racing Weight' by Matt Fitzgerald

They're all pretty similar in accuracy (price just buys more features) and can be pretty accurate, but and it's a big but, they've got to be used in the same way each time.

So same time of day.

Well hydrated.

Not after a meal.

Had a pee beforehand

Make sure your soles of your feet are damp.

Without doing this, you may get quite a bit of variability in readings.

Personally I don't think it's worth the effort unless you're doing it everyday and plotting the results in excel or similar to average out the variability, which sounds like hard work to me.