IMUK 2013 Bonkers!

Comments

• Brilliant reports from both flyaway and Chris. So exciting for you to get a kona place image

• Wonderful report Flyers! SO pleased for you x image

• Awesome race and report and it was a pleasure to watch and shout x

• Does anyone know how Sumo Sue got on? I ran with her for a while and had a good chat

• Mrs SAMrs SA ✭✭✭

Flyaway ... great race report image   Well done you. image

• joddlyjoddly ✭✭✭

Hello, team! 

Great reports Chris and Flyaway. I'm afraid I'm not good at writing entertaining reports, but mine might contain some useful titbits for anyone planning a go next year.

So, first the preamble. I’ve been doing triathlons for nearly four years now, and there’d been a fairly steady progression from completing (Outlaw 2010), through completing a tough one (Wales 2011), to competing in a tough one (Wales 2012, 3rd AG). So the natural next step, what with turning 50 this year, was to go for The Big One. I knew there would never be any certainty, with only one Kona slot in my AG, so I just had to try to get myself in the best shape possible to go for the win, and I’ve spent pretty much the last 12 months doing that. The result was that by last week I was a nervous wreck, really feeling the pressure that I’d put on myself. Last year sub 13 hours would have won my AG but I knew things were likely to be tougher this time.

It had been fantastic having the company of the Bonkers thread during the build-up – so much support and encouragement, but without judgement. I don’t think I openly admitted my Kona dream– a few knew, and some worked it out. I could have killed Mrs Funkin, though, when she started making very clear references to the Kona slot awards! It felt good to know that Funkin and Flyaway were also up for slots, and actually it did feel as if we all had a decent chance.