Pacing tips

Hi everyone, I'm looking for pacing tips for my first marathon. I've been doing long runs at average pace of between 8:15 to 8:30 min miles overall on my runkeeper app. I want to run average 8:20 mins mile on race day. When I check my splits the average is good but times all over the place. Say 20 mile run was average 8:14 but splits were anything from 7:40 min to 8:40min obviously more economical to do consistent 8:15 pace but struggle to. Would love to hear any tips cheers

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

I'm not very good at pacing myself, and I think its one of the things that differentiates the experienced runners from the rest of us as its a difficult task to master.

The best advice I've had for marathon pacing is to practice it.  So do sections of some of your runs at marathon pace just to get used to it (e.g. four miles at MP in a six miles+ run).

One thing concerns me from your post - are you really running your long runs at marathon pace?  Most training plans have the long runs at an easy pace, or with sections at marathon pace, none of them recommend running the entire long run at marathon pace!

• Yep - you're racing your long runs as Stutyr says.

I'm 90 secs or more slower on my long runs than I am on race day. 

You'll knacker yourself out in training and underperform on race day if you don't slow down - you see it all the time. People smashing themselves on long runs and come race day - the performance just isn't there. 

Run fast on intervals or short runs - but do not run race pace on your long run.

Cant you check your splits every mile or two on the app ? And if you're too fast - slow down? 

When it comes to race day - set a watch timer to bleep every 8 mins 20 secs. 

When it bleeps - you should be at a mile marker. If you're not - speed up or slow down accordingly. 

• One thing I would ask is what your other pb's are for shorter distances and where you have got 8:20/mile as your target time from?