Starting to run 100km/week - How fast can I go 10k?

Hi there,

I'm new to RW and this is my 1st post. First of all, I'm quite new to running - having started my 1st run about 8months ago. I've been reading about the Lydiard Training for awhile and have decided to improve my base utilising his Base Phase which strives towards achieving a 100m/pw. I've just peaked at 100km 2 weeks ago and continuing to add more mileage each week. Am planning to get 160km in 4-5 weeks time.

Question is - how fast can I run a 10K race if I ONLY do base work with no speed training? I'm planning to do my 1st race in July this year (about 5 months left)

Bearing in mind that I've never entered a race before. My best time in 10K (using a mapmyrun app) is 49mins - achieved that about 5months ago. It was 52mins 7 months ago. Have never timed anything since, since I know I need a lot of mileage (and speedwork) to improve my time.

FYI, i've been running between 25-45km per week for the past 7months. I've only recently started to ramp up my mileage. Any thoughts would be great! Thanks

Comments

• Sorry I should've titled this - Running 100km/w - How much can you improve on 10K

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

The correct answer to this question is ...

... run a race before July and find out

Its impossible to tell how much you'll improve, but I'd expect you to be significantly quicker than when you ran 10k five months ago. Everyone makes significant progress when they first start running and part of the experience is finding where your natural plateau is, and then the hard work begins at pushing past that level.