85% HR training and what to do when getting fitter?

Hi I've been training for 3 months based on heart rate, doing 1 hills and 1 interval per week (plus a long run) taking my HR to around 85% and its working really well as I'm getting pb's when I have previously found it difficult to get faster. But lately I'm finding it difficult if not impossible to get my HR to 85%, particularly on the hills. I know this is good news as it means I'm getting fitter and find the hills easier as my heart needs less strain to get up them but where should my HR training go from here? Should I just push myself harder to still get to 85%? Im not sure this is possible as yesterday I was really going for it on the hills but only reaching 80% whereas 3 months ago I could easily hit 85-88 as I got to the top. So should my new training HR be 80%? Or should I adjust my max HR so that its lower and my current 80% becomes my new 85% ? I thought max HR never changed tho and we're born with one? Maybe I just need to find some more challenging hills and my HR will hit 85 again? Who new that running could be so complicated! Thanks

Comments

• Did you do a test for your MHR or is it a calculation ? Its possible your 85% is too high for your real MHR ? It shouldn't be THAT hard to hit it ?

You need to increase the intensity of exercise as you get fitter - otherwise you'll plateau.
  • I'd put it down to the length of hill and time taken to reach the top. If you can find a hill that takes 2-3 mins to climb.....and you run it repeatedly at good effort I'm sure you'll more than hit 85%.

Whether it be hills, intervals or a tempo run.....it can taken several minutes to reach 85% of max heartrate or higher.

• A few years ago I did 3 diff calculations for maxhr (found online) and they all came out similar with the average being 180. They took in age, sex, resting hr etc