Half marathon pacing

Hi, Ive been running now for about 3 years and done a few 10ks and a 1/2 marathon. I am doing my second half marathon in Liverpool in March. I completed it last time in 2hours 5 mins which I was pretty happy with. Im training now for the second one but for the life of me I cant seem to get my pace any quicker than 9:30 per mile. Ive seen a lot of posts about people doing 6:40's and the like. I can run at this pace but not for longer than 1 a mile or so. Am I missing something or is my rather slow pace ok for someone who is not new to running? I train 4 times a week, twice doing outdoor boot camp style training and twice running, at present my training runs are 9-10 miles. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I would love to break the 2 hour barrier this time round. Thanks!

Comments

• There wont be many people racing 6.40 miles on the day - the average probably lies a minute or two slower than that.

What is your 10k time ?

If you can run a mile in 6.40 then it shows you have potential - you just need to train at it. Two runs a week aren't really enough though. If you're happy with not progressing then that's fine - but if you want to get faster - you need to train more.

Sounds to me like the runs you do are steady long runs - so you're training to run at that pace. I'd add an extra run in there - maybe a bit shorter but still getting the miles in, and then an extra one where you do intervals. Maybe half a mile or so running at 8 min miles. Recover and go again. Start off with 6 repeats and try adding an extra one every week.

You can tinker with the speed and repeats - but its the same kind of theory - just work on improving week on week.

You only improve at things with practice.
  • ... and that outdoor bootcamp-type training is perhaps draining your legs.