Runners Carrying Defibs

Dear runners I am a paramedic in the South East and a keen distance runner. I was particularly moved by the death of a young runner in the Brighton marathon this weekend. While it won't help to go into the ins and outs of why this may have happened and what may have helped this is a tragedy I am sure you'll agree and my sincere. Condolences go out to the family of this man. In my professional experience the key to survival of sudden cardiac death is early defibrillation so how would you view a charity that provides "pocket" defibrillators to runners in distance events along with some basic life support training? If deployment of these really intuitive and easy to use devices were spread across different abilities this would assure that runners are never more than a few minutes away from help. Each unit weighs about 1kg and if fundraising goes well the charity I would set up would pay entry for the runners carrying these devices and they wold have a special t shirt. I really would appreciate any comments from runners on how you would feel about this the good and the bad. Many thanks.

Comments

• Unless you can get a a significant number of runners to carry them, they'll be of little use - wrong place, right time, and all that.

Would you also suggest that people carry them all the time as a matter of routine?

• It's a nice idea but cost v benefit ? Would the money be better placed into research or health scans possibly ? I'm no expert so I'll bow to those who are.

I'd run with one if I wasn't trying to PB.
  • Stuart. Let the dust settle and the facts emerge before you try to personally benefit from the death of this poor young man.
  • And better to give them to marshalls, or a direction marker with integral kit.

• SideBurnSideBurn ✭✭✭

In all the events I have done I have never needed to stop and provide assistance let alone come across someone suffering a cardiac arrest.