PARIS MARATHON 2014

HI, I am thinking about taking part in my 1st marathon and doing the Paris 2014 one to raise money for a colleague at work that has been paralysed in a cycling accident.  I have seen an e-mail from Sports Tours International offering a Hotel and Race Entry for this which looks good but booking the hotel direct looks much cheaper.

My problem is that I have never done this Race before or been to Paris either and I understand that you need to take a Medical Certificate to the Expo in order to get your race number.  This sounds like it could be complicated!

Can anyone who has done this race before give me an advice on how easy it is to get your race number and get to the Expo etc or let me know if I would be better going with the organised option Sports Tours.

I would be grateful for any comments on this!

Thanks

Lesley

Comments

• Not done the race but it is pretty easy getting round Paris ?

As to the Medical certificate - how much is a DIY stamp ? You can ask your Doc - some may do it for free - or else you might have to pay. Or just forge it - how much is a DIY stamper ?
  • ATMATM ✭✭✭

Lesley, there will be a whole bunch of us doing Paris, again, and you might find the 2013 thread,http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/events/paris-marathon-2013/203790.html  helpful. And long.  If you message me through the forum, I'll send you a bit of a summary. image

• We ( me & OH) did Paris this year and had a great time

organised it all ourselves, rented an apartment as some of our kids joined us,  

the expo was really wel organised 

even got cheap flights from Air France as they are a sponsor 

yep you do need the medical cert, ask your GP or make up a stamp, they didn't really examine it very hard...