struggling with a 25 meter pool

Please can anyone shed some light. I can swim comfortably in open water...1550 in 30 mins...im a beginner !!!. But I get to the pool and feel I just can't do it...out of breath even after 4 lengths. Anyone else experienced the same ???. Any help would be great.Thanks.

Comments

• i hate pools.for me it partly because the water temperature is way too warm for me and so i find it difficult to function

• I get bad reactions to the chlorine to the extent it affects my breathing. I'm puffed out after a few laps too. Have you considered a chlorine intolerance?

• I'm sort of the same- not quite as 'chalk & cheese'.  Assumed it's the wetsuit flattering my poor swimming.  Perhaps we've got sinky legs, which the wetsuit lifts up, making us gods in the OW image

• Me too, after a morning swim (pool) I'm sweating long afterwards.

I'm a weak swimmer, I started open water this year and loved it, found it easier than the pool and a lot more fun, I don't mind the pool though apart from the temperature, but I rarely do long sessions, I get a bit bored and find it hard to focus as its too easy to just get out, its hard not to focus in the middle of a lake or out at sea.

I have found short sessions suit me best, I do 30-40 mins 2-3 mornings a week, and focus on speed and technique, I get puffed out easily so usualy do a length of breast stroke to recover, where as openwater I go slow and pace myself as I worry about getting too tired, I try to find a rhythm as soon as poss, which I find hard in a pool as I often have to dodge people, stop to turn at each end etc

• Occasionally I suffer from sniffles and puffy eyes from the pool, or did when I actually did any swimming. The only thing I can suggest is taking an anti histamine.

• A chlorine allergy isn't a histamine reaction so an anti histamine won't make any difference.