I just bought a new bike

Hi everyone

have decided to do a bit of triathlon (Ironman Switzerland) and today have bought (well put the deposit down) for my bike. I was speaking to the bloke in the shop about a few things and I asked him about cycling shoes. To let you know I have never done any cycling before, my swimming and running are ok but with cycling I am clueless.

He suggested to me two types of shoe. Road racing shoes, which he said can become damaged very easily and also mountain bike racing shoes, he said these would not get damaged because the pedal clip is indented in the sole a bit. He also said that I should probably ask some triathletes what shoes they wear? Good idea i thought...

Any advice is always appreciated

Thanks Harry

Comments

• I think mtb pedals are meant to be pretty harsh on your tootsies if you're planning on riding for a long time because the cleats are piddly. Hot spots are more likely.

I've never worn roadie shoes, but this is what I've heard.
  • Well for racing I'd go for a road shoe - they will be a tad stiffer than the MTB shoe - the MTB shoe does let you walk/run a bit more. A road shoe is just for cycling and the odd cafe stop.

MTB shoes are a bit more practical really, but don't look as cool.
  • Does the bike fit?

Does the guy in the shop know anyting? (it sounds like he does not)
  • To be a total ponce......

MTB shoes just don't look tri.

Get some nice slick road shoes for doing tri. The pedals are better for distance and soles stiffer.

• road, but what gumps said
  • Well! Mine are beautiful, whatever you say!

Beauty
  • MTB shoes are great to get started but are heavy in comparison to road shoes. You're not going to be doing a great deal of walking when road cycling so buy road shoes. In the winter it's easier to get overshoes to fit over road shoes than MTB shoes.