Options

Minimum number of runs a week during marathon training?

Hi there,

I started training for my first marathon earlier in the year. I got to 13 miles and started to have IT band issues. This then developed into something else (physio can't diagnose), currently I can't run at all without getting pain in my thighs. The thigh pain has been going on for 5 weeks now. I have decided to join the gym and really work on strengthening my body so hopefully when I eventually return to running my body will be less likely to get injured.

I am so disappointed I had to pull out for my first marathon. I guess it must be pretty common though! After watching the London marathon at the weekend, I feel so inspired to give it another shot next Spring.

I was doing 4/5 runs a week. I"m just wondering if anyone has ever come across a plan that includes a mixture of running and cross training? Could you successfully train for a marathon with say, 3 runs and 1 or 2 cross training sessions?

Many thanks in advance for any advice!

Comments

• Options

Really useful, thanks.

• Options
    ClagClag ✭✭✭

There's a book, Run Less, Run Faster, that has plans incorporating cross training. I bought it a few years ago but decided against it as I'd rather just run. It's curre sitting on my book shelf gathering dust, so if you want it feel free to PM me. Happy for it to go free to a new home!

• Options
    RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Clag, why is there then a picture of a bike next to your post?

🙂

• Options
    ClagClag ✭✭✭
    It's my bike - used to do a lot of biking but that's gone by the wayside over the last couple of years. Should probably change it to something running related!
  • Options