Options

Knee Pain Advice

Hi, I'm new to running started 3 weeks ago. I'm training for a 10k run in September. I started to get pain just to the side of my knees where the thigh meets the calf. It feels bruised and is stiff and throbs at times. I had a gait check and it was determined that I have over pronation, do purchased a pair of running shoes to help this. I ran 5k on Monday in the new shoes but still had the pain. Obviously I need to rest this old injury and then try the shoes again but I have heard there are bands available to support the knee but not sure if this would help? Any advice very gratefully received!

Comments

• Options
    booktrunkbooktrunk ✭✭✭

Take a look at "it band" on google and see if that looks a possibility. 

• Options
    HA77HA77 ✭✭✭

It's probably not the shoes. It could very well be the ITB like booktrunk suggests. I would suggest resting it and dropping back to walking until it settles and building up gradually again. Most likely it's due to pelvic/lower limb instability and doing too much too soon. If you're worried find a physio who specializes in running and get a proper diagnosis and treatment. Good luck, stick with it.

• Options
    Hi, thanks both for the advice. I'm unsure if it is my IT band as the pain is in the inside of the leg rather than the outside?
  • Options
    HA77HA77 ✭✭✭

Almost certainly not your ITB then. My guess at the reason for the pain and my advice is the same anyway.

• Options
    Thanks HA77 it is a mystery?! I am going to see my friend who is a physio this evening.
  • Options

Hi Emily, I have pain in exactly the same place as you.