Options

First half

I'm running my first half marathon this weekend and am trying to figure out a decent time to aim for. I'm pretty new to running and only been at it seriously since May.  Training has been going ok - I've done the distance a few times over the past couple of months and this has reduced from about 2.05 to 1.50 (just over two weeks ago.)  It's my first half so my main aim is to enjoy the day and run according to the conditions and how I feel but I also know that part of me will be looking to do my best so I'm looking for a realistic pace/ time to aim for. Should I aim for 1.50 given that I know this is achievable, or should I try and shave something off this? 

Comments

• Options

It depends. When I trained for my first half, I was completely unaware that most runners aim to run faster than their usual easy training pace, not slower. I instead assumed that whenever my schedule said 'half-marathon pace' it meant 'take it easy and pace yourself; it's a long way!' and that I needed to practice running at a steady pace because the race would be longer than any distance I had previously run. I could easily do 8 minutes per mile so I multiplied that by 13.1 and added a bit because I thought I'd be slower over a longer distance (I had not run more than 12 miles) and decided to aim for 1:50.

If you've done that, then I can tell you in advance that actually people run faster not slower in races; I discovered this at approximately 800m into the race when I set out with the 1:50ish crowd and got annoyed at how there were all these people in my way, hopped onto the pavement on the outside, overtook them, and accelerated all the way to the finish in just under 1:35.