Options

I T band

Hi I am new to runners world but not to running, I've been running for about 5 years now and have done pretty well with lack of injuries.  But recently have suffered with a pain in the ball of my foot and also a sharp pain on the left side of my knee, I think this is a problem with my IT band, but does anyone have any advise for me.

Comments

• Options

Left side of knee ... prob it band. Stretch it and use the pat strap when running.

Ball of foot, only answer for that is rest.

Make sure you have had your running style looked at and that you are wearing the right trainers. 

• Options

Thanks Welsh Alex.

had a quick look at the stretches, will definately have a go see if they help.  Ball of foot pain I can cope with but my knee does get really painful so am more concerned with that.  Have only managed max of 5 miles on my runs in the last month booo.

Have had my running styled checked but am going again in a couple of weeks to get new trainers.

• Options

IT band: rest if it's really bad.  Lots of stretching and lots of icing. 
    And sports massage will definitely help if it is ITBS: it will help lengthen IT Band and help prevent it rubbing on knobbly bit of knee!!
    The underlying cause needs addressing though: running style/ running surface:too much cambre/bad trainers???
    Good luck!

• Options

thanks runner-bean

have done some extra stretches as advised by welsh alex, been for run today and got upto 6 with only a slight ache.  Think may have done a bit too much road running I guess some muddy fields would help yuk!!.

• Options

I agree with rest of the advice given so far. Stretching certainly has helped me recover quickly. I also read on one website devoted to ITBS that when recovering it can be helpful to run shorter distances but at a higher tempo as it changes your stride resulting in less rubbing. Might be rubbish but in alliance with the stretches it seemed to work for me !!

• Options