Options

breakfast questions

Hi,

I am pretty new to running - I started about 1 month ago - and am so far loving every second of it. Over the last couple of weeks, I have started running at about 6am before I have to get ready for work. However, I have a problem with breakfast timings.

Is it better to eat breakfast before or after an early morning run? I really don't fancy anything much before 6am (and I have read that you should eat up to an hour before exercising - how early would I have to get up??!!!) but usually eat when I get back.

Any thoughts or pointers would be great.

Comments

• Options
    JjJj ✭✭✭
    Whatever makes you comfotable, JC< I would have thought. if you're that new, I guess you won't be running any huge distances, so won't need to take any major fuel on board.

If you eat when you don't want to, and then run, I reckon you'll feel pretty icky. It's a mistake I made!

Perhaps a drink - and a banana if you feel you have to?

:o) Keep at it!
  • Options
    Thanks!

I'm not running too far at the mo. - just a few laps of the local park.

Thing is that I really want to find a routine that I can stick to. My goal is to run in the local 10k next year.

Best get some more bananas in then!
  • Options
    i don't normally do mornings but when i do i have a slice of buttered toast before i go. Made a big boo-boo this morning though by having cereal instead (no butter in the house) and feeling icky! Guess it's really just trial and error.
  • Options
    I don't go great distances either, but run on empty stomach as feel icky with anything in before hand.
  • Options
    Yeah, I tried cereal before a morning run once and once only! Felt so rough after about 1/2 mile have vowed never to do it again!

However, cereal when I get back is a different matter - it really sorts me out.
  • Options