Options

2010 London Marathon - too fat?

Hi Everyone,
Just wondering if it would be at all possible to lose weight (I'm a 44 year old female, 5'6" tall, weighing 15st 8lbs), and train to run the London Marathon in a year. (I know, I must be mad!). I walked and ran the Bupa London 10000 race  last year and have entered it again this year in May. If I started training now would it actually be feasible to train for the London Marathon next year or is there no way I would have enough time? Not sure if I should try to apply. If it's possible, any advice on training and nutrition would be appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Yup, definately feasible.  You may not be one of the front runners but a years certainly time enough to get fit and run round image
  • Options

Yes, I'm sure you'd be able to do it with 12 months of training.

Apply away (once the site is working)!

• Options

Thanks danielp and pinguPongu,

I'm even more inspired now!

• Options

Of course you can you just got to stick with it.

I started running Feb 08 and was 14.5 stone, I have now run two marathons and lost 2.5 stone in the processimage Still a couple of stone to go though.image 

• Options

Hi Fatars,

Go for it.  I watched London this year and there were people of all shapes and sizes.  Giving yourself an amazing goal will also motivate you to keep going!  Best of luck and let us know how your going.

Hi Tommy, I spotted you at Mudchute, but too embarrassed to come over.  I too have a couple of stones to lose.  Do you think we could do it before Beachy?  Watching London made me realise just how hard a marathon is, and I really dont want to be carrying this much weight up those hills.

• Options

Hi Tommygun2 and hopetofinish,

Thanks for your encouragement, image and well done Tommy! I'm going out for a run tomorrow, and I am tempted image to try to enter the ballot for the LM now, - if it will let me! 

• Options