Options

Edinburgh half marathon

Hi can someone advise please?

I am just starting out and this is my 1st event (it's the half on 22nd May, not in April) and we are travelling from the Newcastle / Sunderland area.

We could travel on the day but am not sure it's wise as it starts at 08.00am.
But so far B&B costs are prohibitive and they ask us to stay 2 nights! (Even the links from the organisers; and the Premier Inn type places are already  fully booked)

What do people think of planning to travel up in the early morning?
(It's not as though a B&B is likely to give us breakfast at the time we need to go)

And then we need to keep warm and get clean again after the finish........

Any advice anyone? Thanks,

Pete

Comments

• Options
    Stay close-ish to Edinburgh but not in the city if it's that expensive ? I'd really not fancy a long trip on the morning of a big race. As to after - are you a chain-gym member ? Or go to a local swimming pool for a shower ?
  • Options

I definitely wouldn't recommend travelling from Newcastle to Edinburgh on the day as that's a terrible journey.  You could try hotels outside Edinburgh - Dunbar and North Berwick are on the way to Edinburgh from Newcastle and you would be a lot closer or try places like South Queensferry or the South of Fife (eg Dunfermline) or Falkirk.  Most of these places will have public transport into Edinburgh if you didn't fancy driving, but you'd need to check on availability at that time on a Sunday.

Hope that helps a bit.

• Options

Thanks all,

Will go for something a little closer as suggested - and the local swimming pool idea had occurred to me.

Pete

• Options

Hi Pete