Options

When to take an energy gell

I'm doing my first half marathon at the start of October and am up to around 10 miles in training so far by which time I'm getting fairly tired. I've never used an energy gell before but am curious, especially as they give them out on the course around the 10 mile mark. Is the best time to take them when you're starting to feel tired or some time before that point if you can normally predict at what distance you'll normally start tiring? How long do they take to have any sort of effect?
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    I tend to take my first gel around 10km (+- 1hr) just before the water station. The second gel at around 15km (+-1.5hr), again before the water station. I don't usually take a third one. Maybe around the 2hr mark if you are stil some 15min from the finish,

I would strongly recommend to use a gel you are used to. Try diferent gels now and choose the one you like (or dislike the least!). Last thing you want is to try a new gel and makes you run to the toilet...

The time of the effect of the gel is not immediate, I reckon some 5-10min. It is not obvious, it is more of a case of feeling less tired than having energy boost. That is my experience at least.

Best of luck and importantly enjoy!
    5k: 25:33
    10k: 52:29
    HM: 1:56:29

45yr old bloke!
  • Options
    Gels are not really necessary for the half marathon distance. It's important to remain hydrated though, especially if it is hot, so arrive hydrated before the start, and take a drink at each drink station. I find that it is best to slow down with the drink, otherwise you may choke, or spill it all over yourself. I've just noticed that you said they give out gels at 10 miles. If you feel that you need one, ensure that they are the same as you have trained with, as advised by vitichris above. Good luck with your training and the race itself.
    I don't use gels myself and ran the Southampton Marathon in April without one.
  • Options
    Sol2Sol2 ✭✭✭