Options

Any IT techies (literates) around???

Even though I work in the IT business, I'm a bit of a techie numpty when it comes to probs on my home PC.

The thing is that I used to be able to play YouTube vids and also cgange preferences on my search engine (Google).

I keep getting told on YouTube that either|I haven't got the latest version of Flashplayer (I think that's the one) or there is summat up with my browser. Simlarly Google tells me my browser isn't accepting cookies.

Well, I tried but can't download Flashplayer for some reason and I have re-installed my browser (Explorer 7.0, also, I think).

Nothing has changed although sometimes, when I first lof on to YouTube, I can play one video and then the next try, I get that message.

Any ideas??

I have also changed security settings to low BTW...

Thanks for any ideas...

RB

Comments

• Options
    I had the same problem Ratbag. Do you use McAfee? I googled the problem and found a fix. Had to rename a registry file for Flash (not within the actual registry though so you can't mess up the rest of your machine). I think the file you want is something like FLASHXX.ocx? Wil be under setting - do a search. Rename that file (I think) and you will be able to download flash 9 and use UTube again.
  • Options
    Throw it out of the window.
  • Options
    You could try a system restore to a previous date when your PC worked to your satisfaction.

Restore is in Accessories, System Tools.

Warning restoring back to an earlier is likely to remove any programs, updates etc that have been installed since. You can however save your current system settings and restore back to todays state if necessary.
  • Options
    fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭
    download Firefox browser and use that - it has it's own version of Flashplayer so won't conflict with IE7......you can then leave IE7 for whatever else you need it for - which ain't much really!!