Options

Calling all Bupa Great North Run hopefuls

Comments

• Options
    Name: Noel Carroll

Me!

I started competitive running at 16, and promptly stopped at 17! When I started university I tried again to begin running lasting almost to my final year. Finally 7 years on, I’m stringing together some good training.

Why me?

Combining a clear positive goal with the additional support would allow me to stop kidding myself and actually, really, focus on running well.

I absolutely need a strong goal in mind. At university stress fractures due to very little awareness of how to approach training and competition, resulted in no running. On graduating I was working very anti social hours unable to fit in regular training other than on my own.

At present I have rekindled my passion for running and I am starting to compete again. But I am doing all of this solo. I am a member of a club but do not receive any one-to-one support or guidance.

Currently I work in the fitness industry helping others to achieve their goals but leave little or no time for my own. Consequently the words of coaches from the past haunt me. “You’ll never know how good you could be if….” Has been uttered more than once. So how far could I go and how do I get there are the questions I’ve been asking myself lately? This is the opportunity for me to answer this question.

Current Goals:
    Ultimately sub 1:12. October 2008 1:16-18
  • Options

I haven't really done a lot of running, a couple of London Marathons, a few halfs, a few more 10k but in general I just run to keep fit.

The reason to train me, I intend to run 65 miles in June 2009 to celebrate the 65th anniversary of D-Day, raising money for the service personnel injured due to conflict in Iraq and Afghanistan. Currently I have suffered a knee and hip problem from self training and need some expert advice to reach my goal.

My goal, to complete the Geat North in a reasonable time and collect money on the way for Project 65.

• Options