Options

Muscle Mass, Rowing, oh yeah and Running!

I have been rowing (indoor & on water) and running for the last 6 months as part of a weight loss programme. Of course, now I'm down at my target weight I've fallen in love with running and rowing and want to carry on with them!

But... I now look "skinny/wimpy" and lack real strength for rowing and want to rectify this and build some muscle strength and mass (especially in my quads), but this objective seems to be TOTALLY incompatible with (non-sprint) running?

Any advice or guidance on how I can do both, or am I gonna have to make a tough decision to run+skinny or do weights+beefy?

Comments

• Options
    Many of the top rowers (especially in the lightweight class, below 72.5 kg) are not bulky, more sinewy (if that's a word). They're certainly skinny as in low fat percentages and that helps with running too. And some of them run pretty fast...

For example, have a look at this guy: Mark Emke who participated in a number of world championships.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that you not necessarily have to build bulk, you need strength. When we did weights as part of rowing training we did relatively low weights with more repetitions, and a lot of circuittraining which had strength exercises but which also made you breath hard for an hour. It's about strength-endurance, not about mass.

Where are you rowing?
  • Options