Options

Bike legs gone dead

I don't know what is going on here. I have been cycling to work for about 2 months now. It is about 15 miles each way, but takes about an hour, with all the stopping and starting. I usually do 4 days of riding, with a rest on one (working) day of the week.

Recently it has been getting harder. I seem to fluctuate between feeling strong, and doing a good fast ride, and then feeling exhausted for the entire ride. This has only started happening in the last two weeks. Could it be due to my introducing a short run at the weekend?

Comments

• Options
    Could it be that you brakes are stuck on?

Sorry couldn't resist!
  • Options
    Hmmm - are you getting carried away and racing one day, only to suffer for it the next ?

Might be overtraining - try going easy for a while to see if you get through it.
  • Options
    That was my first thought - but otherwise I feel fine. My legs are weak-feeling, but I don't have any other fatigue, I'm eating and sleeping well and all that.

Perhaps I should switch my focus for a bit and see what happens - I might x-train with a bit of swimming instead and see what happens
  • Options
    A thought:
    Check your heart rate every morning before you get up. If it's 10 bpm higher than usual then you need to take it easy. You may find that the days you find the ride hard are the days you pulse rate is also high in the morning. Your body may be telling you that it's tired.

Otherwise, maybe you're not eating enough chocolate?! :-)
    mmmmmm chocolate.... 'Scuse me, I'm off for a snack...

Tweetie
  • Options
    SticklessStickless ✭✭✭
    Tiredness can be cumulative, and can sneak up on you. Even kids: they take a week to catch up at the end of term. Quite possible you could manage the routine for six weeks, but then you've rather spent your reserves.