Options

Leicester Marathon 2011

13»

Comments

• Options
    Can I just add my comments about this race from Sunday. It was my first full marathon but I have some good experience from shorter races, e.g. half marathons etc.

I would agree with all of the comments about the pre-race. Website poor and not updated until the last moment. Numbers sent out far too late - no excuses for this. This made me fear for the quality of the overall organisation of the race.

HOWEVER... on the day, no such concerns. Good provision of toilets (some queues but good condition). Very good standards of marshalling - lots of junctions to protect and crossings to look after - done very well. All felt very good on the day - drinks stations good, like the mid-course toilets, clearly a lot of planning had gone on to achieve this.

Some other concerns. No clock at the finish (WTF?) most strange. Running through the town centre, agree with earlier comment, it was almost embarrassing running around the shoppers. OK, I was slow (04h17) and I guess for the half marathon runners coming through in volume it was fine, but people did NOT respect the course at all. New Walk at the end was even worse, despite the best efforts of the marshals.

And the official photographer's website (a-w-p) is just SHOCKING. Good luck to you if you want to find your race photos, I'm not sure anyone could ever find them - awful, awful site. Thank god for SportsSnaps, so much better, although yet to find my photo on their site but at least it works.

Very disappointed to see the numbers down on the year so much, when the course is so good and it's clearly demanding to put this race on. Please do it again - I'll be back - but also please do yourselves a favour and make sure that some of the pre-race stuff is looked after a bit better, because it gives the wrong impression. Other races NAIL this.
  • Options
    MACbMACb ✭✭✭