Options

What am I doing wrong?

Dave928Dave928 ✭✭✭

Ok a bit of a rant but if anyone can be bothered to read to the end and provide any help I'd be more than grateful.

I'm 43 I've been running on and off for 20 years not too seriously. Didn't run last summer but started again in September. Did 50 miles in 3 weeks then a 5k park run to see where I was at and managed 21.54 which I was pretty happy with. 

SInce then I've again been running on and off and have done 430 miles since. I get shin splints easily so I started a rigid mileage programme in April, only increasing my mileage by 10% per week and running 4 times per week. The last 5 weeks I've done between 19 and 25 miles per week. This is aimed at a 10k next Friday evening.

So, to see how I've improved since my last race I did the park run again this morning. After 8 months, 480 miles (190 in last 3 months), 88 runs, 6 pounds in lost weight, I've improved by the huge margin of 13 seconds. I was hoping to do under 21 minutes, and with continued training under 20.

Aggghhhh. I feel like all the effort has been almost completey wasted. How can I do this much and see so little improvement? What am I doing wrong? I've been looking for excuses. I've had a cold all week. I've got continuing pain in my sciatic nerve. I did 12k last night. But I don't think these did any real harm. All I can think of is maybe my runs are a bit too one-paced and I don't do enough intervals. Anyone help?

Comments

• Options
    Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

Mike, first of all, 13secs over 5k is a big margin! Trust me i'd be delighted with taking 13sec off my 5k

It sounds like you've only had 5 weeks of consistent training, as the rest has been "On and off". It's this "off" that you can't afford, as it stalls your progress.

I reckon a couple more months of getting a consistent 25-30miles a week in (following your gentle safe progression) and then doing another park run will see you take more time off.