Options

Christmas Cracker 10K

Hello all
Would love to enter for this 10k, however am rather reluctant. I am a slow runner, not an athlete and have fears of being left behind at the start!!! This has happened to me once before and quite frankly put me off from running 10ks. I live in Scarborough and this would be handy for me. Is this a fun event or is it for athletes looking for a PB??
Would appreciate comments from past competitors.

Comments

• Options
    I was thinking on the same lines! I'm fairly new to running and I haven't done anything other than a 5km "Race for life" which was so non-competative - just a pleasure to be there. I can run for 45 mins without any bother, I just use a heart rate monitor to keep my pace below 150 beats per min whilst I'm out and don't take the slightest notice of how far or fast I've been...

What do you think? Is this realistic, thinking of entering? Am I going to look a twit or could this be a giggle? I just want to enjoy being able to participate in something like this.

I live just outside York so it is gloriously and notoriously flat, (~: Do you think this would be a problem? Is the course really hilly? Any advice?

(~:
  • Options
    It is a two lap route, going up a very small but step hill at the start (worse bit). I've done it twice and each time its taken me 61 mins so many seconds, so I'm going to do it again this year to try (ha, ha) to get under 1 hour. So you will be safe as I'll be right behind you. Its a nice run and I'm sure you'll enjoy it. Knavesmire Harrier from York.
  • Options