Options

Losing my (running) mojo

Have notices in my last couple of runs that I seem to have moved backwards in terms of my speed per effort level.

For example my most common route is a hilly 7 mile loop from my home. A month ago pushing hard I could consistently do this in 54 minutes.

However following a cold (during which I ran very gently) in the last two weeks the same level of effort (as revealed by my HRM) sees me round in 57 minutes…

What is wrong with me? I keep hoping when I hot my splits that I’ll be back to my previous times but it doesn’t seem to be happening.

Could my body still have a residue of cold virus it’s fighting (if that makes any sense!), could it be that I subconsciously slow now I’m running in the dark and am dodging piles of leaves, could it be that I’m wearing more gear to counter the cold or have I just lost my mojoj?

Help please!!

<Sobs into his training log>

Comments

• Options
    Neil,

I'm no expert but it could easily be a combination of any of those things..viruses can really take it out of you and it might take some weeks to get back to where you were..underfoot conditions and different running gear I am sure can also have an effect.

Go easy on yourself and build back up to where you were..I suspect running under pressure doesn't always help either..
  • Options
    Neil,

I agree with Ratbag. I'm going through something very similar, and round about this time of year it always seems to happen.
    4 weeks ago, I was absolutely flying and came close to setting a PB in a 10K race on a very tough course. Since then, however, I've also had a persistent bug, an equally persistent knee niggle, and had to get used to running in the dark once more (the latter really seems to have been more difficult to get used to this year). At the moment my performance is well down on where it was a month back.