Options

what-gain-in-speed-is-possible-for-a-novice

Hi,

I've been running for nearly 3 years, and have progressed from a 39 min Parkrun to just under 24 min last year. My PB for a mile is 7:25. I've done 3 marathons and last month, ironman triathlon.

So next year I have a choice - do another ironman and improve my time. I know I can do that image. ... or

... try to qualify for an army PTI course. This means improving my mile and a half run from 11:15 to sub 10:30 - I don't know if I can do that, and I'm no spring chicken image

I'm not a beginner anymore, so I know that progress inevitably slows down after a while, but has anyone made this sort of gain within this time span and was not an absolute beginner? 

Comments

• Options

It takes 10 years to reach your peak no matter when you start. so a 10% improvement should be easy for the PTI target if you focus on that rather than just general training and hoping to improve. 

Go for it.  I imagine that being a PTI is probably one of the more rewarding jobs in the forces as you are generally working with motivated individuals. 

• Options

It's a bit of a tricky question really.

i started running 8 months ago after quitting smoking. Was struggling to run 2/3 miles, now I'm down to a 32 5 mile time. Still improving all the time image

Its based on how much you want to train. Improvement only comes if you put the effort in image

• Options

I'm not afraid of hard work, its just that I need to make a decision fairly quickly as ironman events sell out so fast for the following year, and if I forgo this then I'd want to be pretty confident I've got a decent chance of succeeding.

• Options

I'm no spring chicken either, but I was able to drop my mile time from 6 mins to 4:49 in two and a half years. After one and a half years it was 5:02 (so the bigger gains do arrive earlier).