Options

First 1/2 coming up - but not for ages!

I've been plodding happily for the last six months and have decided to train for a half. Now that winter is here i want something a bit more structured so that i get my derier out of doors. I have the Stafford 1/2 in mind in four months time. I have taken the RW training schedules of the web and they are up on the door.

What i would like to know is any useful hints and tips, especailly about fuel needed for the longer runs. Currently i take water with me or nothing at all, but that's because i do about 3-5 miles at a time.

Oh, and my pace is about 11/12 minute mile.

Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated from those of you with lots and not so lots of experiece.

Ta.

Comments

• Options
    This is what works for me - but everyone is different.

Don't bother with sports drink unless you really feel you have a problem with energy levels. Certainly no need for any runs up to 90 minutes - if I were going over 2 hours I'd rather have an energy bar such as the hi5 ones but generally just take water. Water is OK and essential in warmer weather.

For long runs just run on feel - don't bother trying to push the pace unless you feel good and don't look at your watch too much - use them to explore different places, routes etc. Try and build up to expected time on your feet. If you know of any nice off road trails I'm sure this helps prevent injuries caused by repetitive stress.

• Options
    I've had two running incarnations. The first when the kids were small, between finding time and dodging colds I was lucky to get three runs a week in, two three mile runs and one 6 mile run, which I did not often get round without walking. My best hm time was my first 2hr 12.

Second incarnation, more time to train, very much more broken down physically, I trained run/walking usually 4 times a week, roughly speaking two 3 mile runs, a four mile run and one between 6 and 9 miles.