Options

Speed - Is my approach going to work?

I am relatively new to running (started in January) and am training for FLM.
At present my weekly schedule involves running to work (5.5 miles) 3 mornings a week & a long run @ weekends (up to 12 miles now & adding a mile a week). I try to do 1 of the midweek runs as fast as possible (over the past few months my pace has improved from over 9 min miles to just sub 8 min miling). The other 2 times I concentrate on keeping my heart rate around 150 (RHR 60 & MHR 194)& my pace is around 9 min miles.

When I look at the marathon training schedules I see that many include a session of speedwork that involves short bursts followed by recoveries. My questions are as follows:

- Would this approach be much better for me than my 5 mile "speed" run & why?
- Am I being naive in thinking that my approach will help improve my pace & the improvement I have seen so far is just a function of being generally fitter?

Comments

• Options
    Hello Nick,

I guess it depends uopn your aims.

My feeling is that speedwork is an optional extra when it comes to marathon training. If your aerobic base is strong then add it in. If it is not strong then spend the time building that rather than doing the speedy stuff.

I did speedwork last year and probably not enough aerobic work and suffered as a consequence.
  • Options
    My official target is to complete FLM sub 4:30 otherwise I lose a very substantial bet. But my own personal goal is to go sub 4h which means I guess need to be able to sustain 9 min miles all the way.
  • Options
    I'd agree with ratbag - get your aerobic base up, and do some speed work (either fastish 5 miles, or intervals, ie sprint/recover/repeat over short distances) for variety more than anything else. The important thing is the time you spend running, not the distance and therefore not the speed - you need to know you can stay on your feet for 4.5 hrs.