Options

Rest or recovery after LSR

I am in for FLM (my first marathon) and have decided to use a training programme from "the Competitive Runners handbook" by Bob Glover. It suggests a 3 mile recovery run the day after each weeks long slow run. Other plans I've read suggest a rest day to repair "micro muscle damage".
Any views on which is better?

Comments

• Options
    MinksMinks ✭✭✭
    I think it's really a matter of personal preference. There are runners who feel that their legs feel less stiff and recover faster if they do a gentle (and for it to work it MUST be gentle) recovery run the day after a long run. Other runners (myself included) prefer to take a rest day after the long run. I know that I'm not very good at running as slowly as I should on recovery days so I'd rather take a rest day than risk injury. I did originally start out by doing a short recovery run the day after the long run, but once the long runs start getting tough I know I'll actually benefit more from a complete rest day afterwards, so have adjusted the schedule accordingly.

If you do decide to run on the day after the long run, make sure it is truly a recovery run by taking it VERY easy (e.g. 2 mins per mile slower than marathon pace, or about 55-60% WHR).
  • Options
    Hi Stinkytrainers

I, like Minkin find it hard to run as slowly as I should on recovery runs so I either also take a rest day or do some cross training (swimming, stationary bike, weights).

My main reason for running is for health and fitness along with weight control so my cross training allows me to burn calories while giving my legs a chance to recover.

Seen as you are in training for FLM (respect) and should be in the early stages of your training plan, why not give both a try and see which works best. But do remember the rule of listening to your body as you have a lot of miles to log to get to the starting line.

Happy New Running Year and best wishes.

MK
  • Options