Options

need advice on my London 2 Brighton ultra in may

hello everyone,

I posted a thread on the beginners thread asking for help and advice to help me out training for my ultra.

I need help on the training I should be doing, stretches, best trainers, best foods and liquids I should be taking in my training and on the days themselves.

I am starting from scratch because I have not ran in at least 2 years so naturally being the sain person I am I chose a 100k ultra to do, and I am a bus driver and as everyone knows we are the fittest people out there!

I am planning to jog it but I want to try and run a load of it, I am running for CLIC Sargent and doing it in memory of my sister who died of cancer, so I want to do my sister and CLIC Sargent proud by at least jogging the whole way!

If in anyway you can all help me out with training tips It would be so so much to me.

Thank you all for your time and Happy New Year!

Comments

• Options

Richard I imagine this is the last thing you want to hear but not being a runner of any kind for the last two years and wanting to run a 100k in May, particularly with a sedentary job simply isn't a good idea. I'm sure others here will be more encouraging and tell you you can do anything you can put your mind to  but you're just looking at injuring yourself here. Sorry but that's my honest opinion.

Walking it without too much pain might be an option but realistically running most of it is probably not a good idea.

• Options

thank you for the reply I knew it was going to be a tough ask to run that's why I am going to try jogging a lot which probably aint much better but I have 5 months to get in some sort of shape.

have you got any training advice like stretching or foods and liquids I should be taking? and to start off how far or how long should I jog for while I am training?

• Options
    MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    I'd imagine you will be walking the majority of it to be honest.