Options

Recovery after pneumonia

Hi.

I'd appreciate anyone's personal experience of getting back into regular running after pneumonia, especially anyone over 50.

I'm currently recovering from a nasty chest infection, which my GP now thinks was probably pneumonia (I had seen another emergency GP when I was treated for the original infection). I've basically been "out of action" for nearly 4 weeks and although I'm fortunately now in the recovery stage I still have some lingering symptoms and am doing nothing strenuous yet. 

Before this happened, I had been running between 30 and 35 miles a week for about 20 years, including regular racing and speedwork and had been lucky with illness and injury.

While I know I will have to proceed very cautiously when I do start running again, I'd welcome any first hand experience of how long it might take before I am roughly back to where I was, as it's always good to have a (realistic) target in mind.

Comments

• Options
    RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Well I'm over 50 and had something similar recently. I should say that it was a mild version of what I had in 1989. 

Its really a wait and see job. I picked up the bug before Christmas and only today did I decide I could risk pushing the pace for a few seconds. Until then it had been jogging only, within a framework of finishing feeling well.

What I noticed was that for a set effort, only a certain speed emerged. Then one day for the same effort (easy) I found I was running faster. I imagine it was the bugs effects diminishing.

Good luck with the recovery. Take it easy.

🙂

• Options

Hi Ric - thank you very much for your reply.

My specification of "over 50" was a bit arbitrary, but I'm aware that recovery from even minor injury or illness takes longer as you get older and I didn't want too optimistic a scenario !